13 comments on “Gnarled Forest demo at 2008 LUP Event

  1. As I said in my YouTube comment, I got a laugh out of that walk cycle. The world looks really pretty as well. I’d seen the red brick loading screen sprites in the game assets before but didn’t realize what they were. Thanks so much!

    … Got any more? πŸ˜›

  2. There are! I’m not too sure how much more exactly along these lines I have but there are lots of early LUP level footage to post. The folders and files are very poorly labeled so it’s detective work, can’t say exactly what’s all there off the top of my head.

    I wanted to get this one out first of course πŸ˜‰

  3. This is definitely something special… We’ve rarely gotten anything from the Pre-Alpha GF as far as media goes and though we do have some screenshots, the only footage we have had came from a few snippets of that early LU video Cassie Brubaker uploaded about a year ago. Thanks.
    And to echo jamesster, please share more if you have it. πŸ˜‰

    • It also is interesting to actually see how little the shooting gallery changed outside of some of the brick colors and the landscape. And they said Captain Jack Knife couldn’t get his ship out of that tree. πŸ˜›

    • There’s definitely more treasures to be found in them there hills, though a lot of it will be LUP level footage as opposed to game footage. We were only privy to a few snippets at that point. What I’m organizing as well is all the physical brick related footage that was used as inspirational starting points for in game standards like vehicles and pets.

      • Hey, You won’t find me complaining in the slightest, we’ll gobble up whatever we can get, it’s just so lovely to finally have some Pre-alpha footage coming to light courtesy of you, to us it doesn’t matter if it’s an official world, LUP level, of video footage of the physically built models.

  4. I love this iteration of Gnarled Forest. Simply lovely.
    What a joy to see this.. and so close to my birthday!! Thank you Zip!!
    Please sir, we want more….

  5. I love the music in the Pirate Camp! πŸ˜€
    Anyway, pretty much what I think has been said; it’s awesome to see some Pre-Alpha gameplay! Very rare sight, and please do keep posting whatever you’ve got from that time period. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for posting it!

  6. Wow! That seems a lot more dynamic than the beach that I’m used to, I also love all of the colorful vegitation can’t wait to see more!

The Nexus Force wants your opinion

