7 comments on “It’s a piece of cake to bake a pretty cake!

  1. Sweet vid ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could have recorded some of my stuff. And btw, are you referring to the brick limit only being 250? or did they have a limit to how big models could be for the contest?

  2. @Michael: Not for the contest, but actual brick count for models. I actually can’t remember what the number was, found that on the message boards. Do you know what it was?
    Did you take screenshots of your properties? Or download them? It’s not the same at all but nice to have some sort of record.

    Wall of text time, all building notes so probably of interest to just a morbid few:

    The cross hairs is the exact middle of the cake and it’s how I kept the sides all even, essential for this type of cloning. There can’t be a single error in spacing. You can also see how I used them for lining up the cloned sections. This was a technique I developed making my pyramid, where I frequently had to remove layers of the pyramid wall to work on the inside. Replacing the sections was made infinitely easier by having guides on the floor to line it up.

    The green columns were for support and the dark green bricks were spaced 5 apart. I would colour code by support columns by the layer. Once the cake was done I’d erase all of them to create the floating floor sections, but it all looked seamlessly attached.

    There were two different sorts of icing panels that were rotated in four different directions for the floor. I found this created the right degree of variety. I played around a lot with tiling before I got to this stage and if there was only one type of tile that wasn’t rotated enough times you would see repetition seams. Having a few areas with repition worked for me since it looked like a knife made the icing smear but if you saw a repeated pattern all the way across an entire wall I thought that detracted from the overall feel.

    You can see the wall panel icing sections outside the cake near the end of the video. For both the floor and wall sections I would clone the ‘master’ copy and then delete the plate that held all the icing bricks together, then paint the raw icing on whatever surface. This made it easier to group the panels when I was all done for a build session.

    You can see from the internal guts of the corner wall how the bricks were different colours. This helped me keep track of what parts were performing different functions. I eventually trimmed all the unneccessary bricks and painted them all the same colour. The corners were all one model at one point but had to break it into sections after I added the icing.

    It doesn’t show in this video but I made good use of buckets. I would have a parts bucket for the cake and another one for icing. Then I would have a need parts bucket, anything that I was low on I would put in that bucket. Then whenever I was at a brick vendor, I’d check that bucket and fill up. Drove me bats when a bucket would vanish.

    I found it very interesting how the PR ( performance value ) would fluctuate as I built this. It was close to 200 before I started adding and tiles and by adding more bricks actually lowered the PR. This was because I was covering up the stud and tube polygons with plates and bricks that had a fractional amount of polys. Adding icing lowered the polys but increased the brick count per model so I had to do a lot of breaking up of models. There was also the problem of cloning, I had to have the models well under the brick count in order to clone them because they would count as the same model during that procedure so it was a bit of voodoo finding that sweet spot.

    I left a ‘seam’ on either side of the icing sidewalk for a planned icing edging that I would also create by cloning. I’d spend a lot of time on one section, get it to my satisfaction and then merrily add the goo where needed.

    Cloning the corner edge section provided their own challenges since the bounding box was orientated on the axis of the property, not the model. If the corner section was too large then the edge of the bounding box would extend past the property boundary and prevent me from laying down pipe. Corner icing edges would have to be divided into very small sections to get around this.

    • awesome! I wasn’t that organized with my building lol! For me it just depended on the situation and what I was building. And I do have LDD files and some pics of my props (pics on flickr if you want to check them out) But I still wish I had recorded more of the building proccess and such like what you have done with this video.

      I didn’t really bother taking advantage with transparancy, The stuff I was building was pretty big so I wanted as few models as possible. and I never even used buckets, I just never learned to take advantage of them. I did learn to take advantage of behaviors and dabbled with them quite a bit. I never ended up using anything complex for my props though, because It added a lot of lag and the props were so big they normally didn’t work anyways ๐Ÿ˜›

      Anyways, the brick limit in game had actually changed some, I remember some point after launch that the limit was 500, however, by the time I started build it was changed to 1500. Mav’s entire pirate ship was something like 7000 peices, the entire thing would have fit into only 5 models. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Glad to hear you have a record of your work Michael, whenever you get a chance it would nice if you could post your Capital building at some point. What went into it, getting HOF and fallout of that. The stairwell technique you came up with in that building was the best I had come across, except for those that borrowed and tweaked it on their own buildings ๐Ÿ˜‰

    For the cake I had to be this methodical because of how I maximized the clone tool. I created the constraints and standards so it was an interesting balance of precision and freeform, especially with the icing and NPCs. I was able to have fun with that. What was interesting for sure was taking this idea that I could create 20% of the cake and generate the rest of it through cloning. The brick runs were just ridiculous, I would be buying thousands of cheese slopes daily, and the ‘heavy lifting’ of the sections was silly, trying to align these massive structures into place. Prime kept me well stocked in clear gems to fund this industry.

    • Yes brick runs where horibble I didn’t have a huge disposel of bricks at my finger tips, So I was constantly having to run all over the place, And those cows on my isle, Took me a couple days to get standing in NS offering 10,000 a peice for them :P. And I did use the clone too a lot for my props. But each part of the building varied, so I had to always modify the sections. It was still easier then building each section from scratch though ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. It’s really neat to see how other people built in the game! I’m going to try and do a post soon about how I built things…

The Nexus Force wants your opinion

